Return to the Ocean: A journey with Amphitrite

“We are tied to the ocean, and when we go back to the sea, whether it is to sail or to watch – we are going back from whence we came.” ~ John F. Kennedy
My relationship with the ocean began in my first month of life, and for more than three decades since, that relationship that began as a friendship, blossomed into a passionate love affair. Several years ago, during a very difficult time in my life, I withdrew. I pulled away from everyone and everything, the ocean included. As an only child, I learned that during difficult situations, I needed to cope with everything on my own. What I didn’t expect was what happened this time around. Not visiting the ocean created a void in my soul. There was an emptiness that could not be filled and I had no idea why I was feeling this way. It wasn’t until July of 2011, when I had my very first Tarot reading, that the messages of the ocean came out and brushed the surface of my heart, allowing me to see clearly what I had been missing. This Tarot reading was a true wake up call in so many ways, but more specifically, it questioned why I had not visited the ocean. A direct question came from the cards and the Tarot Maven spoke, “I don’t know why I must ask you this, but why haven’t you been to the ocean?” I was stunned.
MEETING AMPHITRITE
Amphitrite (Αμφιτρίτη in Ancient Greek) is the immortal wife of Poseidon and Queen of the Sea, she is ancient Greek goddess of salt water. She is sometimes listed among the Oceanids,  but more often said to be one of the fifty Nereids, daughters of the Sea god, Nereus and the Oceanid, Doris. By Poseidon, she is the mother of Triton; her offspring also includes seals and dolphins. Her Roman counterpart is Salacia.
Back to my story . . .
I was advised to call upon Yemaya, the Yoruban Orisha or Goddess of the living Ocean, considered the Mother of All, but I knew this wasn’t the goddess I needed to seek to help me with reconnecting with the ocean. I did my share of research, looking high and low, within and without. It was Amphitrite. She would be the one to help me with this painful task. It was difficult for me because of the deep-rooted love I had for the ocean, and how I had turned my back on her. I had no good reason to do so, and I feared her wrath upon my return.
The day arrived when I was ready. I prepared myself physically and spiritually and began the long road to one of my favorite beaches. As I pulled into the state park, an overwhelming feeling came over me. It wasn’t overpowering nor drowning, but a peaceful and warm sensation.
Amphitrite was here!
She was allowing me to feel comfort upon my arrival to the beach. I gathered my belongings, and made my way down the soft white sand in the early morning sun. I sat for a while, and I read my book. I enjoyed the ocean breeze and the smell of beach filled me up. Then the moment arrived. I knew I must enter the water.
The moments that followed were magickal but I dare not speak of them out loud. They are for me and me alone, or rather they are between Amphitrite, the Ocean and myself. Let’s just say that the ocean accepted my return, for she missed me as I had missed her. Amphitrite welcomed me to her home with open arms, and her gift to me was one that touched my soul. Standing in waist deep water, next to the rocks by the lighthouse, a school of minnows surrounded me in a perfect circle. This was Amphitrite’s clear message. Her way of welcoming me back. Her embrace.
One thought on “Return to the Ocean: A journey with Amphitrite

  1. Normally I do not learn post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to take a look at and do it! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thank you, quite great post.

I welcome your comments, leave a reply! Blessed Be!

