A Drink from the Scarlet’s Chalice

“I am the dowghter of fortitude & ravyshed every howr, from my youth, for behold, I am understanding & science dwelleth in me & the hevens oppress me, They covet an desyre me with infinite appetite few or none that are erthly have embraced me, for I am shadowed with the circle of the sonne; and covered with the morning clouds: My feet are swifter that the wynds & my hands are sweter than the morning dew.”

Babalon is The Great Mother, the Mother of Abominations, the Sacred Whore, the Mother of Harlots, she is Mystery, she is the Scarlet Woman.

“This is how Babalon works, the destruction of morality and the release of psychosexual energy into mystical illumination.” pg 108 Peter Grey’s The Red Goddess

The lurid and provocative descriptions of the Red Goddess have helped me form a more concrete image of the goddess symbols in my own workings. You see, coming more from the heart than from the head, The Red Goddess is not just Grey’s devotion to the Scarlet Woman, it is itself a talisman. If nothing else it is challenging, uncompromising, sarcastic and insightful, and at times downright funny, but always providing the clear message, “Let Go“!

Babalon is Rising! Babalon “is a power that comes out of the past and resonates into the now with the compelling song of the witch woman. She is both the primal form of the Goddess from the far distant past and the most modern icon of post-human style” (p2). His passion for the Holy Whore shines through on each page.

The call to Babalon is key in present day. It is essential in reclaiming female power. Of course, women can’t flock to temples and set up camp as Holy Whores in this day and age without being arrested, but a definite change in the way women see themselves, and in the way men see women, would be a start. Every woman can invoke the Holy Whore into her life with pleasure. The Sacred Prostitute is a woman who has reclaimed herself and has reconnected with her will. Most importantly, she is a woman who has reclaimed the sacredness of her body.

InLore                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             Enochian is a name applied to an occult or angelic language recorded in the private journals of Dr. John Dee and his seer Edward Kelley in the late 16th century. The men claimed that it was revealed to them by angels. Some contemporary scholars of magic consider it a constructed language. It is believed, by some, to be the only way to communicate with the Scarlet Woman. Aleister Crowley conducted invocations using the Enochian System of Magick that led to his book, The Vision and The Voice, consisting of chronicals of his mystical journey.

In Crowley’s, Book of Lies, he dedicated chapter 49 called ‘Waratah Blossoms’ to Babalon.

Seven are the veils of the dancing-girl in the harem of IT.  Seven are the names, and seven are the lamps beside Her bed. Seven eunuchs guard Her with drawn swords; No Man may come nigh unto Her.  In Her wine-cup are seven streams of the blood of the Seven Spirits of God. Seven are the heads of THE BEAST whereon She rideth. The head of an Angel: the head of a Saint: the head of a Poet: the head of An Adulterous  Woman: the head of a Man of Valour: the head of a Satyr: and the head of a Lion-Serpent. Seven letters hath Her holiest name; and it is This is the Seal upon the Ring that is on the Fore-finger of IT: and it is the Seal upon the Tombs of them whom She hath slain. Here is Wisdom.  Let Him that hath Understanding count the Number of Our Lady; for it is the Number of a Woman; and Her Number is An Hundred and Fifty and Six. 

Who is to drink of the Chalice of Ecstacy? The Whore, Babalon, shares her sacred elixir with all who dare savor its hidden delights through the purity of heart and transparency of soul. For me, the Chalice of Ecstasy is the fruit of the Tree of Initiation. I drink the nectar of transformation.

The day when BABALON reaches for me, She will touch a place which is not quite flesh. This place is fluid and constantly changing. She will push me over the edge and I will fly to meet Her. In that moment, I will have felt the yielding of myself to a force which is a part of me but which I cannot quite grasp. I will allow myself the freedom to be exactly who I am without fear of disapproval.  BABALON will reinforce the strength that I sometimes forget I have. She will enhance the Woman-Essence that is me. She will help me experience some of the more hidden and shadowy parts of myself: my creativity, my sexuality, my anger but also my joy, love and celebration of living on the Earth.

Hear the charge of the Goddess, “To Me! To Me!”  As she beckons to those who wish to be free; Calling Her children from hither and yon! I raise up the cup and adore Babalon!  ~ In Nomine Babalon: 156 Adorations to the Scarlet Goddess

I’ve been hearing whispers, and although I cannot make out the words, I feel the weight of their importance. Soon, She will roar through me. Soon my words will be Her words. Soon, there will be only Her.

Babalon Rising!

Love is the Law! Love under will!

One thought on “A Drink from the Scarlet’s Chalice

  1. nbperez says:

    *whistles* I love this entry! I’m glad I’m also not the only one who’s feeling the pull of Babalon while reading the book.

I welcome your comments, leave a reply! Blessed Be!

